Skip navigation

Tomorrow it will be a month since I started my first job as a developer. I haven't done anything challenging, just simple HTML and CSS coding, plus working with my company's proprietary CMS, which, I must say, is pretty awful. There's a lot of hoops to jump through in order to write a new page, and the templates, which are written in VB script, are some of the worst examples of code I've seen. Based on the 3 projects I've worked on so far, I get a feeling that the quality isn't going to change. I guess this is reality.

Today I started on a new project, a web application written in ASP.NET using C#. I'm at a point where I understand most of what the code is doing, however, I can't say I am a fan of what goes on under the hood. The HTML is bastardised when using web forms and controls. Visual Studio "helps" by changing valid HTML into invalid HTML, and boy, does that annoy. The project I'm working on was 90% completed by a contractor a couple of months ago. He's not there anymore. Now the client wants project completion, so one of my project managers has asked me to finish it off, working to a "fix list". It turns out that the contractor wasn't very good at displaying his handy work to the browser. Tables galore and structural tags used for presentational purposes, plus awkward page flows that lead to user confusion.

I've just printed the following ASP.NET tutorials for reading on the bus to work tomorrow morning.

Hopefully these Sitepoint tutorials, which are actually the first four chapters of a book, will prove helpful in how to develop the ASP.NET way. I'm not convinced as of yet.

Leave a Reply

