Skip navigation

I’m gonna be learning one icelandic word a day starting today. By learning I mean remembering the spelling and the pronounciation. The word for today is:

afmæli meaning birthday pronounced aam-eye-lei

which is apt, as it’s Steinunn’s birthday today. We spent half the morning recovering from last night’s impromptu drinking session. We watched England lose the football at the Three Sisters in Cowgate, met Lee from Lancaster spout on about how life was brilliant, passed a few cheeky half pints through the iron railings of the pub to a man who called himself Jesus, and then hit a few more pubs in the Grassmarket.

The second half of the morning Steinunn opened up the pressies I got for her that took me about an hour to wrap! I’m sure it would have taken most folk just 5 minutes, but like most blokes, I’m useless at wrapping. I think she liked the stuff i got.

3 Comments

  1. of course, i do want to learn the meaning of the words as well

  2. Í dag var fyrsta afmælið mitt með Nick, og það var æði:) Hann gaf mér fullt af dóti, vel innpökkuð, og við áttum saman yndislegan dag, ég var verulega dekruð, eins og sosum alltaf, og ég elska hann:)

    No wonder the presents were so beautifully wrapped, as you took your time doing it – a whole hour, eh:) I’m sorry to ruin your handiwork, but not really as I was thrilled to bits at what the paper hid … who knew you were so good at picking presents?!!? I feel thoroughly spoiled & special this day. Thanks Sweetheart, for a great afmæli – my second one with you but first one whilst in the same country as you:) X

    • hds
    • Posted Monday, 3 July 2006 at 9:05 pm
    • Permalink

    Cute ;) Keep up the good work!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By st. pie’s place » afmæli with nick on 03 Jul 2006 at 10:39 am

    […] Something else nice happened too, as my b-day inspired Nick … […]

Leave a Reply

